As per Section 5 of the FSS Act,  The Food Authority shall consist of a Chairperson and the following twenty-two members out of which one-third shall be women, namely:-

(a) seven Members, not below the rank of a Joint Secretary to the Government of India, to be appointed by the Central Government, to respectively represent the Ministries or Departments of the Central Government dealing with -

  • Agriculture,
  • Commerce,
  • Consumer Affairs,
  • Food Processing,
  • Health,
  • Legislative Affairs,
  • Small Scale Industries,

who shall be Members ex officio;

(b) two representatives from food industry of which one shall be from small scale industries;

(c) two representatives from consumer organisations;

(d) three eminent food technologists or scientists;

(e) five members to be appointed by rotation every three years, one each in seriatim from the Zones as specified in the First Schedule to represent the States and the Union territories;

(f) two persons to represent farmers’ organisations;

(g) one person to represent retailers’ organisations.

Current Authority Members
S No Name Designation Organization
1 Ms Rita Teaotia Chairperson FSSAI
2 Shri Pawan Kumar Agarwal Chief Executive Officer, Member Secretary FSSAI
  Appointed under clause (a) of sub-section (1) of Section 5 of the Act
3 Dr. B. Rajender Joint Secretary Ministry of Agriculture, Deptt. of Agriculture & Cooperation
4 Sh. Santosh Kumar Sarangi Joint Secretary Ministry of Commerce, Department of Commerce
5 Sh. Amit Mehta Joint Secretary Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

Sh. Minhaj Alam

Joint Secretary Ministry of Food Processing Industries
7 Sh. Sudhir Kumar Joint Secretary Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Dept. of Health and Family Welfare
8 Dr. Reeta Vasishta Additional Secretary Ministry of Law and Justice, Legislative Department
9 Sh. Manoj Joshi Joint Secretary Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium
No appointments have been made under other clauses of sub-section (1)  of Section 5 of the Act

Profile of Members of Scientific Committee

June 2017

Profile of Members of Scientific Committee. (Uploaded on: 19.06.2017) Pdf size:( 1.39 MB)

Authority Meetings Archive

June  2019

Minutes of 27th Meeting of Food Authority held on 4th February 2019  [Uploaded on : 18-06-2019]

Minutes of 26th Meeting of Food Authority held on 14th June 2018  [Uploaded on : 17-06-2019]