Section 16(2)(c), of the FSS Act, 2006 provides for the mechanism for accreditation of certification bodies for Food Safety Management Systems and Section 44 of FSS Act provides for recognition of organization or agency for food safety audit and checking compliance with Food Safety Management System required under the Act or the rules and regulations made thereunder.

This document defines the authority’s definition on requirements of FSMS to be implemented by Food Business Operators in the country. The present document aims to assist all players in the food chain to better understand FSMS implementation.

International Scenario on Food Safety

The International Standard ISO 22003 defines food safety management system (FSMS) as the set of interrelated or interacting elements to establish policy and objectives and to achieve those objectives, used to direct and control an organization with regard to food safety.

The Key elements of any FSMS are:

  • Good Practices/ PRPs
  • Hazard Analysis /HACCP
  • Management Element / System
  • Statutory and regulatory requirements
  • Communication

Internationally and even in India, there are many Food Safety Certifications which meets these requirements. These are HACCP, ISO 22000, FSSC 22000 and many more. These are voluntary certifications to strengthen the food safety system. However, under current Indian regulation defined by the FSS Act 2006, Food Safety Management System (FSMS) means the adoption Good Manufacturing Practices, Good Hygienic Practices, Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point and such other practices as may be specified by regulation, for the food business.